Flan's Diary 🍮

Mylingua Review

I've decided to try out mylingua after stumbling upon the one of its social media accounts.

To start, mylingua collects native Chinese articles from Taiwan and China. With its AI, it's able to recommend you articles based on your HSK level and vocabulary using its scoring system. In each article, words are color coded based on how well you know them and offers translations for each of them. It is targeted towards intermediate and advanced learners but is available to anyone.

There are currently two tiers for mylingua, one is free and the other is a little under 10 dollars a month.

At the moment, I have a free trial. This allows me full access to mylingua so I don't have much experience with the freemium interface. There is one thing I'm curious of. Do previously read articles still use the 5 articles per week limit? I did notice that some lengths do vary. The limit does seem quite small to me as I went through numerous articles in one reading session.

One of the key features of the site is how it recommends articles based on your mylingua score. There are also several categories you can go through. I found myself in gaming and food the most. I did notice in the "All" category that it is a bit more mixed rather than in order. I think mylingua would benefit from a way to hide previously read content. Their covers do turn to green but they start to take over the recommended section after a bit.

There's a lot of features once you find an article. You can switch between simplified and traditional characters, add pinyin to all or just unknown words, and disable text color if you'd like. Each article has an audio to accompany it as well as a translation for each sentence. By double-clicking, you can mark a word as known. Clicking on a word also brings up a side panel that has the pronunciation, pinyin, possible translations, HSK level, and frequency rank. There are also vocabulary actions.

There are three vocabulary actions. Unknown, which is the default when you first start, marks words with red. Words you're learning mark in blue. Anything marked as known becomes black.

One thing I found to be really cool is the progress page. It keeps track of how many articles you've read, the words in read articles, how many words you know, and your current level. There is also a daily reading streak. Articles need to be manually marked as read in order to count towards the streak and to your favorite topics.

There are a few other features part of mylingua. You can import your own texts into the program. You can also see a full list of all your words and export them into a CSV file to easily make flashcards.

I would like to be as transparent as possible with my experience. I did notice that the search bar for articles doesn't usually work for me. It's not too often, but it has also happened where certain not-Chinese words and abbreviation will marked as unknown. Usually though, they would be greyed out.

Overall, I would definitely recommend mylingua to other Chinese learners. Its interface is really easy to maneuver and it doesn't take much at all to get started. My level is around HSK 3 (pre-intermediate) and I was able to enjoy a fair bit of content. I would still encourage giving the site a try even if your level might be a bit lower. I picked up a lot of vocabulary in the short time I tried it out.